Down to the Roots - February 2015

Who doesn't love the vibrant color of a burning bush in the fall? Well, New York State doesn't, and effective March 10, 2015, you will no longer be able to buy/plant this and many other "invasive species" plants in the Empire State. So, what exactly are "invasive species" and why are they a problem?

The term "invasive species" refer to a species that is nonnative to a particular ecosystem, and whose introduction causes or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm or harm to human health.

Invasive species can harm natural communities and systems (plants and animals found in particular physical environments) by out-competing native species, reducing biological diversity, altering community structure and, in some cases, changing ecosystems. Invasive species threaten New York's food supply, not only agriculture but also harvested wildlife, fish and shellfish; our landscaping, parks, gardens, and pets; and our recreation resources and even animal and human health. All New Yorkers have a stake in the invasive species issue.

The regulations set forth by New York State will help to control invasive species by reducing the introduction and spread of them by limiting commerce in such species. By preventing introduction of new invasive species, New York will save time, effort, and money in the future.

Some of the more popular plants that have made the list include: black locust, burning bush, golden bamboo, yellow groove bamboo, Japanese barberry, kudzu, sycamore maple, and several varieties of honeysuckle.

For a complete list, click here.


Credit: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation and the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets, September 10, 2014.



  • in
  • by Christine Streich
Add Pingback

Please add a comment

You must be logged in to leave a reply. Login »